Responding to Data Subject Requests (DSRs) in Viva Glint

Viva Glint Administrators, designated by your Microsoft 365 Global Admin, can use in-product admin functionality to respond to DSRs from Viva Glint survey takers. Read more about DSRs.

For information on how to support a request to delete data, visit Delete user data from Viva Glint. For information on how to export user data, visit the section Use the People feature to export responses.

Important

You may have multiple Viva Glint experiences in your tenant. As each experience operates independently, users' personal data may be distributed across multiple experiences. For this reason, users must request data deletion (DSRs) for each instance they're part of.

Delete user data

Caution

User data deletion in Viva Glint is an irreversible process. Learn more about Viva Glint data deletion controls.

When Viva Glint receives the delete signal from a Data Subject Request (DSR) or Microsoft Entra ID for a user, they're not immediately deleted. A user's employee record is in a soft-deleted state for 30 days. During this period, the employee record can be modified from its soft-deleted state and updated to the status provided in the HRIS file. After the 30-day period, all data related to the employee is permanently deleted in accordance with User Data controls. If a permanently deleted needs to be reinstated, their data needs to be uploaded as if they're a new employee to create a new record.

When a user is deleted from Glint, they are removed from distribution lists and future surveys. The user’s role definitions and their reporting permissions are removed. If the user has direct reports, their reports are assigned to a placeholder name, which can be updated later. Follow these steps to facilitate a retroactive user upload update if past survey data should reflect the new manager.

Procedure to delete users

  1. From the admin dashboard, select the Configuration symbol, then in Employees choose People.
  2. Search for the user in the Search People field.
  3. On the user's profile, select Delete User from the Actions dropdown menu.
  4. A Delete User Confirmation box is displayed before confirming the delete action.
  5. Select Delete to confirm the delete action.
  6. Return to the People page and verify that the user doesn't appear in the list of All, Active or Inactive employees.
  7. Return to the admin dashboard and select Activity Audit Log in the Service Configuration section. The user deletion action should be listed in the Event column and its status should read "Success." The Details column should show "Deleted."
  8. Survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users, and the corresponding reports are updated in accordance with the user data controls.

Use the People feature to export responses

As the Viva Glint Admin, you send survey taker's user attributes and raw survey responses directly to the survey taker - without viewing it. Attributes are populated from the data sent to Viva Glint in your Human Resources Information System (HRIS) file.

Procedure to export user data

  1. From the admin dashboard, select the Configuration symbol, then in Employees choose People.
  2. Search for the user in the Search People field.
  3. On the user's profile, select Send User Data from the Actions dropdown menu.
  4. In the Send User Data slider:
    1. Enter an email address in the User's Personal Email Address field if data should be sent to a personal email. If not, enter the user's work email address.
    2. There's the option to Include raw survey responses. Select this option to include the user's responses surveys. Data can't be extracted during a live survey.
    3. In the Send User Data slider, all attributes from your HRIS file are preselected.
      1. Select Clear All and then select the attributes you want to export, or
      2. Exclude attributes from the export by deselecting them.
  5. Select Send. A "User data export sent successfully" message appears.
  6. Send the encrypted, compressed file of the user's data that downloads to your device to the requesting employee.
  7. The employee receives an email with a password to decrypt their compressed folder.

Screenshot of the email that a user receives after their data has been exported from Viva Glint, including a password to access their compressed, encrypted file.

Correct user data

Caution

  • Don't perform a retroactive update while a Viva Glint survey is live.
  • Deleted user data can't be retroactively updated.

As a Viva Glint Admin, you can update employees' current data or past data tied to closed survey cycles.