double charged for upgrading from Personal to Family

Agnes Mary Irene Sanderson 0 Reputation points
2026-07-01T06:17:54.9366667+00:00

How may I get refund for double charging when I upgraded from Personal to Family Microsoft 365. I had paid the annual subscription for my Personal Microsoft 365 and a few days later upgraded to the Family Microsoft 365. I was then charged the full annual subscription for the Family Microsoft 365. Please refund this full amount. I was prepared only pay the difference in the two annual subscriptions.

Microsoft 365 and Office | Subscription, account, billing | For home | Other
0 comments No comments

1 answer

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. DaveM121 924.5K Reputation points Independent Advisor
    2026-07-01T06:53:15.4666667+00:00

    On the link below are the steps provided to switch to a version of Microsoft 365 to another version with more features, basically that is a new subscription, then the remaining time on the original subscription is converted to the new subscription on a pro-rata basis, in this case that is 92%, if you check your subscription expiry date on your account on this link (https://account.microsoft.com/services/), you should have nearly 2 years left on the Microsoft 365 Family subscription

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/accounts-billing/subscriptions/switch-between-microsoft-365-subscriptions

    Because the 2 subscriptions will now have merged, if you cancel the subscription, that would cancel both subscriptions, the best option to resolve this may be to contact Microsoft Support directly, try using this method to contact their support.

    Go to this link: https://support.microsoft.com/contactus

    Select Microsoft 365

    Click 'Get Home Support'.

    In the box provided, type billing.

    Press Enter, then on the next page, scroll down and click 'Sign in to Contact Support'.

    Navigate to Microsoft 365 and Office - Manage my Subscription.

    Select the 'Chat with support agent in web browser' option

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.