When logging into Azure with a personal account, it redirects me to a company account with no way of preventing it

Eduard Viladesau 0 Reputation points
2026-07-01T13:53:05.9+00:00

Some years ago, a company added my personal email to their Azure environment as an external consultant. I do not work for them anymore and I have no access to their IT system.

Now, when I try to log into Azure with my personal account, I am forced into the company's authentication and Azure account, with no way to make Azure "forget" my involvement with the company.

I have tried clearing all Windows credentials for that external account, clearing cache/history/cookies from my browser, tried Incognito mode, tried different computers and browsers, to no avail. As soon as it detects that my email is in the company's Azure directory, it forces me into the corporate authentication pathway with no way for me to authenticate as an individual.

How can I get my email / account removed from the company's Azure directory without access to the company's IT department?

Microsoft 365 and Office | Subscription, account, billing | For business | Other
0 comments No comments

1 answer

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Helen Luu 2,455 Reputation points Independent Advisor
    2026-07-01T15:18:47.05+00:00

    Hello @Eduard Viladesau,

    Based on your description, it appears that you are unable to access the Azure portal using your personal account because the account is automatically being redirected to an Azure tenant where you were previously added as a guest user.

    Since this association was created some time ago, the recommended way to leave the organization would normally be through the organization's portal. However, as you currently do not have the required access or authentication to that tenant, you may need to contact the organization's administrator and request that your guest account be removed from their directory.

    Please give this a try and let me know the outcome. Should you have any further questions or concerns, I will be happy to assist.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.